This is the "Home" page of the "Countries Research Online Library Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Countries Research Online Library Guide  

Last Updated: Nov 21, 2016 URL: http://libguides.punahou.edu/content.php?pid=316121 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Reference Sources

World Book

Encyclopedia Britannica

Worldmark Encyclopedia of Nations

Grolier Online Encyclopedia 

Includes Lands and Peoples ***

Atlapedia Online
Facts, statistics, maps on the countries of the world. 

Info Please
Links to entries from almanacs, encyclopedias, dictionaries. 

Merriam-Webster Dictionary
A dictionary and thesaurus.

Culture and Religion

News Sites

BBC News

Excellent coverage of world news. Type in the name of you country in the search box for an overview of the country as well as the latest newsheadlines, in-depth articles, leader profiles.


CNN World News
News articles on world events. 

MSNBC News
National and international headline news stories.  Links will take you to fuller versions of the news stories as well as to recent news articles from the same geographical region. 

The Internet Public Library Online Newspapers
Links to online newspapers from various countries of the world. Gives you news from the viewpoint of the countries themselves.

Worldpress.org

Large directory of world newspapers, sorted by region, country, and political affiliation.

      

    Country Information

    Background Notes 

    Basic information on individual countries provided by the U.S. Department of State.  Scroll down the alphabetical list of countries.

    The World Factbook
    Click on "Guide to Country Profiles" for up to date, factual information on specific countries. Includes discussion of transnational issues and international disputes. Click on "Guide to Rank Order Pages" for comparative data on geography, population, economy, communications, transportation, and military."Reference Maps" and "Flags of the World" are other useful pages in the Factbook.

    Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments

    CIA's list of government leaders is updated weekly.

    Rulers
    Lists past and present heads of states and governments, including de facto leaders..  Also lists recent foreign ministers, religious leaders, and international organizations. Includes some portraits.  

    Librarians' Internet Index

    Links to excellent websites and monitored by librarians.

    • Africa: South of the Sahara
      Lists past and present heads of states and governments, including de facto leaders.. Also lists recent foreign ministers, religious leaders, and international organizations. Includes some portraits.

    Maps and Pictures and Media

    WorldAtlas.com

    Maps organized by continent and then by country.

    National Geographic

    Saudi Aramco World
    Beautifully illustrated magazine of Arab and Muslim cultures.

    Metropolitan Museum of Art-Islamic Galleries

        

      NoodleBib - Make a Works Cited Page

      NoodleBib, a tool for making a bibliography where you may cite all your research sources.

      TLC at BLC Teacher Librarian Collaboration

      Profile Image
      Dita Ramler
      Contact Info
      dramler@punahou.edu
      944-5852
      Send Email

      Head Librarian/Reference Librarian

      Profile Image
      Ms. Deb Peterson
      Contact Info
      dpeterson@punahou.edu
      (808) 944-5822
      Send Email
       
      Description

      Loading  Loading...

      Tip