This is the "Home" page of the "7W Researching for SS Majors" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

7W Researching for SS Majors  

Last Updated: Jul 22, 2016 URL: http://libguides.punahou.edu/7w-majors Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Find a Book -- Search the BLC Catalog

Keyword Search  "opposing viewpoints"

  • BLC Catalog
    Use keywords to search for books on your topic.

Find an Encyclopedia article

Encyclopedias provide unbiased facts and are a good starting point in any research project.  Online encyclopedias are accessible anywhere there is internet connection. Choose from these general encyclopedias.  Some searches offer links to magazine articles and websites.

Choose Online Databases for the most current information

  • Opposing Viewpoints
    Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing essay writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
  • Facts On File -- Issues & Controversies
    In-dept investigations of today's top issues.
  • Honolulu Star-Advertiser
    Our local newspaper is a good source for information on current issues and problems facing our community.
    Remember to click on Full Text to read the whole article.
  • Ebscohost:Masterfile Premier
    MasterFILE Premier contains full text for thousands of general reference magazines and publications and covers a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more.
  • SIRS Researcher
    This online database gathers up-to-date information and graphic images from magazines, newspapers, websites, and encyclopedias. Type in your topic or scroll through the alphabetical list of topics.

Cite your Sources with NoodleBib

  • NoodleBib
    A tool for citing your research sources.

Evaluating Websites

RADCAB is an acronym to help guide your evaluation of websites.

RELAVANCY - Does the information help to answer my question? Is it useful?

APPPROPRIATENESS - Is the information suitable to my age, my values?

DETAIL - DOes this site give me too much information? Too little?

CURRENCY - When was the information published or last updated?

AUTHORITY - Who is the author of the inofmriaton? Is he/she an expert in the field?

BIAS - Why was this information written? Was it written to inform, persuade, entertain, or sell me something? What is the author's purpose?

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip